Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello,

i am an american artist who is thinking about moving to france from germany.
i currently have long-term residency as well as working papers in germany, as well as health insurance through the german artist union.
my family has purchased property in france and i have been back and forth between germany and france all summer, working on the old house in france, and doing my best to keep up with exhibitions in germany.
although i would like to move to france permanently, the process of getting a cartes de séjour seems like a pain in the neck, especially given the fact that i already have papers and am already squared away in germany.

can someone provide with a link or some info about beginning the process of getting a cartes de séjour, how long it typically takes, what are the pitfalls, etc.

much appreciated for any and all infos in advance.

allbest,

tra

G

·
Suggest you look at the first thread on the France page ; New rules for some categories demanding "le titre de sejour".

Its a 'sticky' thread so it will stay at the top.

·
Administrator
51,543 Posts
You might want to take a look at this page, from the EU portal website: Status of Non-EU Member Country nationals who are long-term residents

I've only had a chance to skim it, but it looks promising if you've been living in Germany for 5 years or more. Scroll down to the bit about "Right of residence in the other Member States" - as usual, there are plenty of disclaimers, but it seems to promise some lightening up of the procedures.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
3 Posts
I've only had a chance to skim it, but it looks promising if you've been living in Germany for 5 years or more. Scroll down to the bit about "Right of residence in the other Member States" - as usual, there are plenty of disclaimers, but it seems to promise some lightening up of the procedures.
Cheers,
Bev