Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, all! A bit about me: I am a US Navy Veteran, and a USAF brat. For the most part, I was in the US, although I was in (at the time) West Germany, early in my childhood. While in the Navy, I was based in Japan. We went to Okinawa, Australia, Thailand, Hong Kong, South Korea, Philippines, and Singapore.

I think, maybe, where I'd like to visit, and live for a while, would be Thailand. The USD exchange rate's good (compared to Japan or Singapore). From the lil I've read over the years (on and off), medical (like Bangkok) is pretty good. It's also pretty warm (rules out Canada, Russia, and others like that).

I've heard some say it can be hard to get a working Visa there. IDK if I'd be able to get work as a bartender, or work of some other kinda. I did go to bartending school, to be state certified, enology certified, and TIPS; not sure how much that would matter, in the international market...

I know my way, fairly well, around PCs and Macs, MS Office, Adobe (Photo-Shop, Illustrator, In-Design, Dreamweaver, and know, but not proficient, with Flash).

Would like to hear from others who've lived abroad. Bartender a good career to have? Other thoughts/suggestions?

·
Administrator
49,471 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

I've moved your post over to the Thai section in hopes of attracting a bit more attention. And because I know there have been a number of discussions here about visas, jobs, etc. that should be of interest to you.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hey Buddy

Ive been in bangkok for four weeks now with my wife who works full time in an international school. Ive been looking for work with no no results as of yet.

The one thing I have noticed though is that all the bars I have been in be it thai bars or western bars its the same thing the bar staff are pretty Thai girls . not retired western men.

Good luck though.

J

·
0 Posts