Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
This is my first post in this forum. I am a software engineer with 5.5 years of experience, and my wife is a software test engineer with the same experience. We are planning to apply for a PR to move to australia.
I talked to a couple of consultancies in Bangalore who process australian PR, and they charge around 50 to 100k INR as consultation fees. Upon inquiring further, I understood that they do not do anything special for the fees they charge, just guide me through the process!

Here's what information that I've gathered so far.
  1. Either me or my wife can become a primary applicant, since both of us qualify. I can apply for 189 visa, but my wife being a software test engineer, can apply only for 190 (state sponsored visa). So I am planning to be the primary applicant.
  2. The initial step is to get myself evaluated from ACS. Then comes EOI, DIAC application fees and medical/police verification.

Do I have a better chance if I go through an agent? If I decide to go ahead on my own with the application, can someone point me to links about the documents required? I could not find any thread dedicated to it here.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Hi,

We are from Bangalore and are applying for the PR as well. We have also visited a few agents but decided to do it on our own. There is a lot of help available and the process is fairly simple. My husband is into IT and I am a Chartered Accountant. He is the primary applicant in our case.

As you have written, you need ACS assessment and IELTS score to apply for the EOI. There are a number of forums here with lots of info on ACS assessment. The ACS site also is very informative. Before that, check the eligibility points you score. (Available on the Australia Immigration website).

IELTS and ACS, that is the first step. Good luck.

Neela.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Hi there,