Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been in SA for 10 years now, and I'm heading back to Norway with my long-term girlfriend in 2 months. I thought my experiences with home affairs might help someone.

It started off with a 3 year study visa, which was fairly simple to obtain from the SA embassy in Oslo. The lady at the main counter was extremely rude and arrogant and it took nearly 3 months, but overall it was simple with the right documents from the university, student loan facility and a family doctor friend.

After the initial 3 year honeymoon I experience home affairs hell first hand for each subsequent year (I studied for 6 years total, and they only grant 1 year visa extensions). You have to go into the worst part of town and queue for HOURS and face extremely rude and unhelpful staff. Try to print everything out from the home affairs website if you can, otherwise you have to queue for the forms first. Take a note of the phone number and phone regularly to find out if your visa is ready. You'll have to phone MANY times before someone picks up. Some days they don't at all.

Then I wanted to work in SA. Now, I should mention that during my final year at university I worked full-time on the side. You're only supposed to work 20 hours, but companies are generally ignorant of the law, and nobody enforces it. You can still register for taxes, get health insurance etc.