Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This could be a long thread as I just don't know where to start!

Joined this forum when I got wind that my OH may get an offer through work to move to the US, via L1. I work as a consultant/contractor which keeps me travelling (once every 1-3 months) between UK and US for the last year. 7 trips in the last year. Two children - 15 and 14. Both children well settled in schools, social life etc.

It was almost a case of 'We'd be mad to leave this and start again with an uncertain life!' Then we thought, if we don't do it now, we never will. Plus thinking of the childrens' ages, they were keen, having visited the US, well at least the older one is, to study in a Uni there, so... We're going for it.

Between our busy jobs, childrens' school demands and the moving forward of the paperwork etc for the Visa though, I never got time to post here.

Have been reading a lot though, googling and going through this forum and it has helped us a lot. Thank you so much ! :)

Still, quite a few unknowns and scary things worrying us and keeping us up at nights, instead of being excited! I know :-(

So, where do I start?

The move will be to Chicago quite likely where the OH will need to work, whereas my work keeps me on the east coast.

The approvals have come through from the USCIS, we filled in the DS-160's this weekend and next step try and schedule appointments.

The reason that did not happen over the weekend is actually we need to slow things down just a little bit! This has come on like a train, hurtling towards us and has given us no time to prepare. We also know that once the visa is in, the pressure will be on for us to relocate pretty quickly as the requirement in the US is very urgent.

So... questions, questions, questions.. Anyone who can answer any of the below would receive eternal gratitude :) :fingerscrossed: :help: