Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1st of all l'd like to say hello and think this site does an amazing job of helping those to find the right info on moving to the states !
my background is I'm married to an american girl who left the states when she was 6 yrs old , her mum and dad were irish but took american citizenship , both have recently passed away ,
we are seriously considering moving to Calafornia in the near future and wewere looking for as much information as possible , 1 question l want to put to you all, is would my children be granted citizenship as their mother is american ?

l know l'll have to apply as l was born in ireland , but with my wife being american will it be any easier for me to get citizenship ?

thanks for any help you's can provide as this is the starting point for me !

·
Super Moderator
18,089 Posts
would my children be granted citizenship as their mother is american ?
Do you mean children that you already have? If so, since your wife, the American parent, left the US when she was 6 and did not reside in the US for at least 2 years after reaching the age of 14, then no, she cannot pass on American citizenship to them. See below:

USCIS - Biological or Adopted Children Residing Outside the United States

This should help you get started with what your wife needs to do to sponsor you and the children:

Immigrant Visa for a Spouse of a U.S. Citizen (IR1 or CR1)

·
Registered
6,370 Posts
1st of all l'd like to say hello and think this site does an amazing job of helping those to find the right info on moving to the states !
my background is I'm married to an american girl who left the states when she was 6 yrs old , her mum and dad were irish but took american citizenship , both have recently passed away ,