Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, Happy New Year to all,

This is my first time on this site so apologies if i have posted this in the wrong place. First a bit of background.

I currently work on an oil platform in the North Sea, I work a two weeks on, three weeks off rota. 3 years ago when i got this position i just up and left to Hossegor (near Biarritz France). I thoroughly enjoy living there and have become a keen surfer (as when I am in France I have no work to do!).

The problem is I now have a girlfriend who is a diving instructor and diving work in this part of France is non-existent. I have hit upon the Canary Islands as a possible solution to this problem as believe that the diving is good and there are many surf spots to keep me occupied when my girlfriend is (hopefully) working.

Can anyone help with the following questions,

What are the employment opportunities for a very experienced diving instructor/ guide.?

As I will have to fly back to Scotland regularly is there a certain Island that I should be looking at?

Is there a preferred Island on which to live for the best waves/diving?

How easy is it to rent accommodation per year (i.e. not at holiday tariffs)

Many thanks in advance for any advice you can provide.

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
Hi McKenzie, and welcome to the forum. I cant help you much with your questions, other than to say work wont be easy as the recession and job situation is here too, but maybe where theres a will, theres a way? I suspext she'll need all manner of permits and insurances to enable her to teach diving here???? And a good grasp of the language, both written and verbal would be a plus?!!

That said, the Canaries are lovely Islands

Jo xxxx

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your quick reply Jo, my name is actually Bruce. I see from your link that you are involved with real estate do you deal with long term let's?

·