Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi, im Gini, 32 from England. ive been offered a job at an international school as a social worker / school counsellor. I have been a social worker for 10 years and a manager of my team for 18 months - so I have plenty of experience. the job ive been offered has a monthly salary of 5500eg pound a month which to me seems very low. im not certain on the cost of living. I can only compare it to a teaching job I was offered in Cairo for 10000 but I declined the offer as I felt that teaching the whole curriculum would be really hard for a non teacher!

anyway, what id like help with is:
what would be the average cost of renting a furnished studio or one bed apartment in Hadaba?
would 5500 be a decent income or would it be a struggle to afford accom, bills and food on this?

ps: im moving alone, so its not like I have a partners income to contribute....

any advice anyone can give me is greatly appreciated - I only have 3 days to make a decision as the school want to know by Wednesday!

thanks, Gxx:fingerscrossed:

·
Registered
14,309 Posts
Hi

Your salary is very low and you have not been offered an expat package which is normal when you have been recruited from overseas.. normally you would receive

A good salary.. usually paid in US dollars
An apartment provided or at least a generous rent allowance
Health insurance
Work permit

I have a friend who is a counsellor for an international school in Cairo and I can tell you she receives all of the above.
I do not know the cost of living in Sharm but I certainly would not upsticks and move to a country to be paid a salary of under 600 pounds sterling.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Thanks for the response. The package your describing is what I was expecting as I've seen that offered for teachers but the two jobs I've been offered haven't had the package. I was beginning to wonder if these packages exist!