Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

Little introduction, I'm a Freelance graphic designer (B.A Hons, Foundation Degree, BTEC Diploma), and with various ties in internet marketing, I'm a proxy designer and I'm wangling my job to be do'able anywhere around the world, which would fit in well with my current aspirations.

I've always loved NYC and would love to visit there, of course I will hopefully take a vacation there to experience it, but I reccon a few days will make me want more, and it'll be sad to leave.

I've just finished my B.A Hons course, so I am only freelancing, I have no ties, no nothing, I want to do this young. I'm still living at home so I'd rather get setup elsewhere, rather in the UK first, then have to worry about moving furniture and such, I'm a free spirit at the moment.

I've done some reading on visas and such, and was wondering how hard it would be to possibly get an apartment for a few months (year?), to soak up being a new yorker, but without being an official citizen? That way I could come and go if I so please, and if I liked it during my time, would that make it easier to become a citizen as i've spent time there? No doubt it's not as simple, but that's what i'd love to do. Rather than just be a holiday guy, I'd love to just up sticks, find an apartment and sort it out from there.

What's standing in the way of this 'goal'? Anything I should read into?

Thanks

·
Banned
273 Posts