Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.
I would appreciate any advice on the info below please.

I have the opportunity to move to CA next year with my job. I am a UK resident, so is my wife and we have 2 small kids <2yold and 2 dogs.

We would be going for up to 3years.
My salary would be around $100k plus the company would pay for rent and a car.

I need to be in the LA region though have no real ties to any one area. Would be good to be<1hr from LAX though.

My wife would not work initially but may look for something after a year or so - she is a primary teacher in the UK.

So now I have set the scene I have a few queries that I hope people can help me with? sorry for all the questions!

1) I pay 40% tax in the UK - is the take home less or more in CA? Do you recommend getting paid in USD or GBP?
2) how much does the fact that I would have my car and home paid for by the company effect the tax I pay?
3) do I need a new driving licence?
4) How much does renting a family car cost? (I drive a BMW 5 series in the UK)
5) areas to live - safe family area top of the list with good links to LAX
6) my company is talking about $3,000/month for a place - we need 4 bedrooms - is that enough?
7) is the cost of utilities (gas/electric) comparable to the UK?
8) does anyone have any recommendations for a relocation broker/advice company?

Thanks in advance.

Steve

·
Administrator
50,421 Posts
Hi all.
I would appreciate any advice on the info below please.

I have the opportunity to move to CA next year with my job. I am a UK resident, so is my wife and we have 2 small kids <2yold and 2 dogs.

We would be going for up to 3years.
My salary would be around $100k plus the company would pay for rent and a car.

I need to be in the LA region though have no real ties to any one area. Would be good to be<1hr from LAX though.