Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Just registered on this site. I'm currently planning to move from Austin, Texas to Italy in January 2013. My original intent has been to teach English and I'm in the process of finishing up my TEFL teaching certification.

I'm getting ready to set up interviews for September (I know teaching interviews are in September and January). I still need to get my work VISA, but it seems to be a catch-22. You can't apply for a VISA unless you have a job or a "job promise." However, most of the teaching positions I've found require a work VISA. Wha?

Also, I've researched the average teaching salaries and average cost of living and the amounts are frighteningly close. So, as a long-time writer/editor, I'm also searching for content editing positions.

Lastly, I'm a musician and would like to live in a city with a decent amount of music venues. Lots of info, I know, but if anybody has any feedback on jobs and preferred cities - I'd love the hear your thoughts! Thank you! - James

·
Administrator
48,526 Posts
Teaching English is a particularly tricky route for a visa for Americans, since any Brit can pop over to Italy and take a job without the need for a visa at all.

On the page discussing documents required for a work visa for Italy Ministero degli Affari Esteri - Visti, it mentions the following:

This visa is to be issued pending issuance of the “nulla osta” (entry clearance), to be requested by the employer.
Which seems to imply that you have to find the job first and then have your employer file for a nulla osta. (This is pretty much the procedure in most European countries these days.)
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
4 Posts
Language schools don't issue visas or nulla ostas for English teachers. Some will employ you under the table, but they are not reputable places where you would want to work. If you want to move to Italy you need to: