Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello lovely people!

I will be moving to Greece in July/August and then my boyfriend will be joining me in October. We plan to stay for one year! We are both working remote jobs based in London, but fell in love with Greece when we visited last year and are so excited to be moving! However, we are having some trouble deciding where to move to! At the moment we are thinking of Nafplio, but as our knowledge of cool places in Greece is rather limited we are looking for your advice! Here is the kind of place we are looking for:

1. 2-3 drive or boat ride to Athens (we will be flying in to London every 2 months or so)
2. Pretty city or town within walking distance to a beach
3. Proximity to mountains and/or other pretty nature
4. Interesting historical area (I studied classical, hellenic, and medieval history in uni so big nerd on this)
5. Good food (can we go wrong anywhere in Greece on this one?)
6. Reasonable cost of living
7. At least some other 20 and 30 somethings around to befriend

Soo we are open to anywhere on Peloponese, central Greece, or Islands that fits most of those things!

Anyone have any suggestions? Do you think Nafplio is a good option?

Thanks so much for your advice!!

XX

·
Registered
325 Posts
Hi there,

Naplio is an ideal location if you can find the right property at the right price. We found it a little expensive though versus what we wanted for our money.

With the new motorway open to Kalamata I can get to the airport in Athens in under 3 hours, and of course in the summer months there are flights to Gatwick from Kalamata airport. Peak summer a bit more expensive than Athens, but then the car parking is free and you save on fuel etc.

South Peloponnese I would recommend looking at Stoupa area, Petalidi - Messini area also.
Historical sites abound with Ancient Messini & Olympia to name but two.....