Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody,

I am a newbie on here and have been reading through a lot of your posts.

My husband (30) and I(24) are thinking of moving to Galicia. He is a carpenter and I am currently studying Ecology and Conservation at uni.

We have already lived abroad in Zanzibar and rushed into buying land and building a house on it. (fortunatley the economy is going the right way over there!)

However, I dont want to make the same mistake again. I would like to find out as much as I can about Galicia beforehand.
If anyone could answer my questions that would be great!!

1. What is the work situation like? would my OH be able to get work as a carpenter there? and if so would he have to take any spanish exams etc or get licences etc?

2. Would I be able to get work out there as an ecologist, I am aware of the bears, wolves etc conservation programmes, but can I work there without knowing the languages fluently? (We currently know no spanish)

3. What are building regulations like? how easy or hard is it to renovate one of these 'total rennovation projects for $30,000?

4. how does it compare to british weather? i have seen there is a lot of rainfall and low winter temps etc?

5. how easy is it to sell a renovated property?

6. And lastly (for now!) how easy is it to keep horses out there (compared to bloody expensive here!)

Thanks in advanced,

Amy x x

·
Registered
1,412 Posts
Hello everybody

Hi Amy and Welcome

I live part of my time in Asturias where I have had a flat and a growing number of spanish friends for over 3 years now. I also have brit friends in Galicia who earn a buck rthrough B&B, Scuba diving courses, he is a chef, she is in computer support, and they keep bees.

Based on that I offer:

1. What is the work situation like? would my OH be able to get work as a carpenter there? and if so would he have to take any spanish exams etc or get licences etc?