Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a journalist in the US in the early stages of looking into moving to France. I have none of the common connections (ie, marriage, job, etc), and from reading this forum I have a pretty good idea of the difficulties. So I would love anyone and everyone's advice, but don't bother with telling me it's difficult or a long shot - I already know that.

I have a few potential visa options... Since I work for a well-known American publication, it's possible they can help me, but not at all guaranteed since I wouldn't be moving for work. I'm also a part-time student at an American university, so it's possible that I could be accepted to continue studying at a French university. I also think, considering my skills and somewhat unhinged passion for France, I could put together a pretty convincing projet for the skills and talents visa. If all else fails, I will probably risk starting out on the tourist visa while I look for something more permanent.

Other relevant details: I know French pretty well, and would have a high-level certification from the Alliance Française before this happened. My wife works in nonprofit communications in human rights, so has potential job opportunities with the UN or other international organizations in Paris that could potentially help with the immigration process, but again, not guaranteed at the moment.

So. Given all that, would any people with expertise or a similar experience be willing to advise on what they think the best of these options might be, or where to start?

Many thanks in advance, and for your excellent advice throughout the forum.

·
Administrator
50,032 Posts