Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys,

I've been wanting to come back to Dubai for the longest time and I think now the time is right. I am currently in the USA with a Bachelor's degree in Information Technology and 2 years working for HP. I have been applying to jobs for the past 3-4 months and haven't heard back anything. Is it a good idea to come to Dubai and look for jobs locally. I have some family so I can stay with them for a while while I hunt for jobs. Any advise on this? good idea or is it bad?

Thanks for reading and helping out!!

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Hello guys,

I've been wanting to come back to Dubai for the longest time and I think now the time is right. I am currently in the USA with a Bachelor's degree in Information Technology and 2 years working for HP. I have been applying to jobs for the past 3-4 months and haven't heard back anything. Is it a good idea to come to Dubai and look for jobs locally. I have some family so I can stay with them for a while while I hunt for jobs. Any advise on this? good idea or is it bad?

Wouldn't recommend it until September at the very earliest. I certainly would never recommend quitting and moving here to look for one, but a "holiday" - sure.

Realistically, with a degree in IT and two-years experience, you'll get offered entry-level jobs probably paying 1/4 to 1/2 of what you're on at best, as you're competing against thousands from the sub-continent.

·
Registered
864 Posts
what fbt said...

the flip side of that coin is, with your profile, applying online is going to end up being a pretty solid waste of time, realistically the only chance you have is if you are here in person... your odds of getting something by applying online are astronomical...

wont say it can never happen, because it has happened to others, but the new horizons spacecraft had better odds than you do...

·
Registered
21 Posts