Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am new on here, and have my fiance and I are thinking of moving to Canada. We are currently 23 and 25 and wont be doing it for about a couple of years. But I was wondering if people would be able to tell me how to go about it, what the first step is etc. I am a primary school teacher and my better half will be training to be a driving instructor soon.

We have a dog, I have read about taking her then so thats ok. But I was wondering about jobs and housing etc and how much things are in relation to here. Also what are the hospitals like over there? What about buying cars and insurance.

We would like to live somewhere where the winters are very cold and have lots of snow as we both love it, but then is warmer in the summer. Dont want to live in a city would like a smaller town or something like that.

Sorry for all the questions, I hope someone will be able to help me.

Thanks,

Vicky x

·
Registered
37 Posts
I am a primary school teacher
Although not your first step to immigrating to Canada, I can speak to transfering your UK teaching qualification to a Canadian one. Education is a provincial responsibility so each province has its own teacher certification body. The requirements for teacher certification vary slightly amongst the provinces. Your first step to transfering your teaching qualification will be to contact the teacher certification organization in the province in which you wish to reside. For example, in BC, this is the BC College of Teachers.