Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
thinking of moving with my filipino wife and our daughter to bacolod at the end of the year, we already have a house there in mansilingan.

After selling up in the uk i think i would have about 70k to live on giving me a fairly long time to setup some form of work / income. My profession is computer programming and im fairly certain i could do this working online for myself.

At 40 i wont be retiring but just dont want to be a desk slave like i am in the uk anymore.

i know the cost of living in the philippines is much lower if you avoid the malls etc - the most i have lived there for is one month.

does this sound like a crazy plan? have you done something similar?

·
Registered
1 Posts
Crazy? You must be crazy! It sounds like heaven to me. Also sounds like you're ready to go. We are at the other end of the telescope: no savings, no assets, no house here or over there, but hoping for all of these! Get yourself over there and enjoy! Best of luck with it all.

·
Registered
230 Posts
Hi Pkelly....

Mate, Do your homework.

Your 70,000 pounds converts into around 4.75 million peso. If you live until you are 70 that figure converts into 158,000 peso a year or 13,000 peso a month.

I could not live on that.

Even allowing for your 70,000 pound to accrue bank interest I would say that the work you intend to do with computer programing has to bring you in at least 20,000 peso a month to add to your 13,000 from your savings..

Your 70,000 pounds or euro is not enough. Is there money these days in computer programing. It seems that computer programmers are a dime a dozen so to speak.

Your 70,000 pounds will be eaten up by family hospital bills and drug stores. You will fly home every other year to the UK.