Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.

I am new to this forum but am after some advice regarding making the big move to Australia from the UK.

I am a registered midwife in the UK (qualified for around 19 months) and am interested in working as a midwife in Australia.

Does anyone have any information that might be useful? Has anyone made the move and was happy/sad about their decision? Is the process easy and how long does it take? What is midwifery like in Australia, and is it similar to the UK?

Any info would be great!

Thanks

Sarah

·
Registered
367 Posts
Hi.

I am new to this forum but am after some advice regarding making the big move to Australia from the UK.

I am a registered midwife in the UK (qualified for around 19 months) and am interested in working as a midwife in Australia.

Does anyone have any information that might be useful? Has anyone made the move and was happy/sad about their decision? Is the process easy and how long does it take? What is midwifery like in Australia, and is it similar to the UK?

Any info would be great!

Thanks

Sarah
Hi Sarah,

Welcome to forum.

Firstly, since your occupation, Midwife, is on the Skilled Occupations List, you can apply for points based permanent visa which is usually the 189 visa.
SOL - Skilled Occupations List (SOL)
189 visa - Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189)

On the visa page you will see the requirements that need to be met for which you are awarded points. These include:
Age, English ability (IELTS, PTE, etc), Skilled employment experience, Qualification (Degree, diploma), and other factors such as partner skills, Australian study, etc.

You must have a positive skills assessment in order to proceed.