Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys, this is my first post but I have been lurking in here for some time now.

So I have this dilemma:
My parents and I live in Croatia (I'm a student at the moment, studying Computer Science), I am 22 and have two more years to graduate. My mother has had a job in Germany as an elderly care worker for four years now and she lives in the house of the person she takes care of as it is mostly a 24/7 job. She is a merchant by trade and has no experience in the field. My father is working in Croatia and is electro-mechanical technician with a pittance for a salary (cca. 800€ a month). We manage to get by as it is mostly because of my mother's salary.

Since supposedly my job is wanted in most countries, I know English pretty well and don't know German, I would very much like to move to Australia (I guess I just seem to like it).

Now the problem is that it would be much easier to move to Germany (closeness, familiarity of Europe) but learning the new language, climate and German mentality - I don't like those. It would also allow me to stay with or close to my parents. They are nice people but apparently want me to stay with them and take care of them in the old age. Something along the lines of "we spent a lot of time on you in the past 20 years, you should do the same for us when we get old", "if you go to the Australia we will never/rarely see your children", "we invested so much into you and now you want to leave us behind" and "where will we go once we get separated".

I, on the other side, want to go on with my life for a change. Move somewhere, start from scratch and build my own life and so on but feel guilty taking a bigger risk of moving to Australia and leaving them behind on their own.

So, both of those countries are supposedly nice to live in but I have taken a liking to Australia for some reason.