Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am looking into moving to Spain from the US, particularly Canary Islands since I have an idea in my head that it may be a little easier to adapt since there may be more opportunity for work and I speak the language. I'm in my late 20's and don't have a family. Also my degree is in Psychology and used to teach... Someone guide me into the right direction please!! (i.e. visa, getting a job/job programs..)

·
Registered
128 Posts
You will need a visa. It can be obtained from the local Spanish Consulate in your state or the nearest one to you. They can also help you any other way you may need guidance. Why have you chosen the Canary Islands instead of Main land Spain? I would think opportunities would be greater on the Mainland. Maybe you should look into the Costas.

Where in the States are you from?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your prompt reply!! I chose the Canary Island because I figured that since they are small islands I can maybe have a better chance of adapting and then moving on to the bigger, mainland side of Spain. But really I am open to any location... I'm presently in Florida and I will be visiting the Spanish consulate as you have suggested. Do you think it will be difficult or even expensive to obtain a visa? I will be doing some research now on the Costas...I see you are from there.. How are the job opportunities and the style of living?

·
Registered
128 Posts