Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I wanted to write about my experience of moving to Australia. There are so many negative posts (justified or otherwise), I figured I'd write a happy story.

As you can see in my signature below, I got my PR in October last year and since then have been looking for jobs in Australia. My professional background is as a mechanical engineer designing medical devices. I have 6-7 years of work experience working in the US and all of this was quite attractive to potential employers here. I managed to interview over Skype and get an offer without ever having been to Australia!

The offer came in early February and it took us a week to decide that we were going to actually uproot ourselves from the nice lives that we had built for ourselves and move! I had asked for 8 weeks of time from my new employer to move and settle in before starting work. We left California in the middle of March and took the scenic route to Sydney.

We are very fortunate that the move for us was a lot easier than what most people on this forum go through. My brother moved to Sydney towards the end of last year and so we didn't have to worry for accommodation right away. We had a place to go from the airport which was very nice.

The apartment hunting was quite chaotic since we were not used to the 15 minute inspection window that is common here. But we managed to find a place in 2 weeks and moved into our own apartment 3 weeks after coming to Sydney.

Work started and we slowly settled in. The wife started looking for jobs and it took her about 6 weeks to get an offer and she started working last week.