Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are wanting to sell our house to family. I have started contacting solicitors but I'm curious of what an average solicitor fees for selling a house?

Our family that's buying the house was quoted £750 on their end but we haven't been quoted yet. I just figure anything above £500 was high but I'm new to this here in the UK.

·
Registered
39,103 Posts
If it's a domestic transaction, then why don't you use a cheaper licensed conveyancer instead of solicitor? £700 is about par for a solicitor, roughly half of which will be disbursements, such as land registry, searches and bank fees. You can probably save at least £100, perhaps more, by using a conveyancer. Using an online solicitor/conveyancer will be even cheaper.

·
Registered
533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Joppa said:
If it's a domestic transaction, then why don't you use a cheaper licensed conveyancer instead of solicitor? £700 is about par for a solicitor, roughly half of which will be disbursements, such as land registry, searches and bank fees. You can probably save at least £100, perhaps more, by using a conveyancer. Using an online solicitor/conveyancer will be even cheaper.
Well I'm not sure what you mean by domestic transaction? I'm a bit new to this. We are basically just handing over the house(switching names) so that we can move. The family won't let us sell since it's co owned with the mom so we are getting out from it and aren't making any profit. From what I understand they'll have to apply for a new mortgage in order to take it. What is it that a conveyances does? We just want to get out of this and hand them the house as cheaply as possible and be done with it so that we can move out.

·
Registered
39,103 Posts
Domestic = between family members, not outsiders.