Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Since this is my first post I guess I should give a bit of info about myself. I'm a 24 mechanical engineer living in Toronto, Canada and I'm looking for a change of scenery after living in the same city my whole life.

A couple weeks ago I decided to start looking into engineering jobs in other countries. I stumbled on Melbourne on Forbes' list of 20 top cities to live in and the more reading I've done into the city the more interested I've become. So I'm going to start working towards getting a Visa because, as I understand, once I obtain it I have 5 years to actually make the move.

My current degree and work experience (1.5 years) falls on the MODL, SOL and CSL list (60 points.) I get 30 points for being 24 and 15 points for holding a Canadian passport. So I have already surpassed the 100 point mark for the Visa I was thinking of applying for, Skilled – Sponsored (Migrant) Visa (Subclass 176) (Victoria) which requires 100 points. My current employer has an office in Melbourne, so I could ask for a transfer but I'm not going to rely on that for a Visa application.

Now from what I've read, I have to get my degree recognized. So I need to send in a bunch of certified documents to Engineers Australia since my country is on the Washington Accord.

Now therein lies my question. At what point should I go about getting my skills assessment done? Should I do that before I start applying for my 176? Or once I apply will they ask to get that done? I couldn't find a definitive answer on this so I thought someone on here might be able to offer some insight.

Thanks in advance!

- Greg

·
Registered
619 Posts
Hi everyone,