Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am planning to apply next week for ACS assessment in Software Engineer Category. I have a full time 4-years B.Tech degree in Electronics & Communication and done Masters in Software System through correspondence recently.

I have come to know that if I show my Masters degree in IT then there can be chance that my work experience could be counted only after that. I have a total of 10 years experience in IT industry but a non IT bachelors degree. My masters degree is in IT but its through correspondence and that too I did 2 years back.

Could someone please advise if I should show my masters degree or bachelors will suffice.

Thanks in anticipation.

·
Registered
3,763 Posts
Hi gvirmani,

submit everything you have - the assessor will sort it out ;). If you have multiple qualifications, the "skilled" date will be the one that is most favorable for the applicants. Check the ACS Summary of Criteria.

Example scenario:
A) If you go through "Recognition of Prior Learning" (based on your 10-year work experience), 6 years of relevant work experience can substitute for a formal degree. That would leave you 4 years of work experience for point claims.
B) Your bachelor is assessed as comparable to an AQF bachelor with a minor in ICT but relevant to your nominated occupation. According to the ACS rules you become skilled after 5 years of relevant work experience post-graduation.
C) Your master degree is assessed as comparable to an AQF bachelor degree with a major in ICT. After two years of work experience post-master-graduation you become "skilled".