Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our wedding has been approved and registered in the UK and we are now back in the US before return to the UK in the summer to marry. Do we still need a fiance visa for my fiance if the marriage registration has been approved?

·
Registered
2,465 Posts

·
Super Moderator
18,065 Posts
Even though I'm a permanent resident? Do I need the spousal return visa?
You need to give more information. Are you a UK citizen? Is your fiance? Where are you going to be residing after the wedding?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You need to give more information. Are you a UK citizen? Is your fiance? Where are you going to be residing after the wedding?
I am a UK citizen and live in the US where I have a green card already. Do I just change my status when I return?

·
Registered
6,370 Posts
Marriage and immigration as two seperate entities. Congratulations! You will have to adjust your status in the US and process name changes with Social Security, DMV, HR ... To be on the save side - get at least one certified copy with an apostille.
What kind of Green Card do you currently hold?

·
Super Moderator
18,065 Posts
You do realize that your fiance will need to obtain a marriage visit visa in order to get married in the UK? It's for those who intend to marry in the UK but reside elsewhere.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
You do realize that your fiance will need to obtain a marriage visit visa in order to get married in the UK? It's for those who intend to marry in the UK but reside elsewhere.
We asked the registry office in the UK when we registered and they said he didn't need a visa... We are confused as other places say you do.

·
Super Moderator
18,065 Posts
We asked the registry office in the UK when we registered and they said he didn't need a visa... We are confused as other places say you do.