Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm 28 and my wife is 26 we are both British, I'm a software developer (without a degree) and she's an accountant ACCA qualified with a degree.

How are the job markets for our professions in Toronto or if anyone has links to typical salaries etc that would be great.

I'm also wondering what the best route for us would be to move over, and what our options are basically? We would ideally like to move over to Canada permenantly and set up life there before we have kids etc.

Thanks in advance
Dan

·
Registered
4,458 Posts
1112 Financial and investment analysts
2147 Computer engineers (except software engineers/designers
2174 Computer programmers and interactive media developers

The above are the three National Occupation Classifications that if your occupations fits would permit one or both of you to apply for Permanent Resident status. If you Google Welcome to the National Occupational Classification 2011
You will be able to insert each code number to determine which occupation names are covered by the classification.
If your occupations are not on THE LIST then you will need to find pre-arranged employment.
You should read carefully
Home - Citizenship and Immigration Canada - International

Good Luck.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you very much for the reply.

I had a look at the list and my job description is the same as the 2174 and the job titles mean the same thing as what I do my job title is currently just Developer. But it means software developer or web programmer etc they allmean the same thing does that mean its covered then? Or does it have to match exactly not sure why it would to be honest, for example I've never heard of someone describe themselves in our field as a web programmer. It's like mixing the terms.