Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm just new to this site and was looking for some advice and information. I'm a qualified plumber with 15 years experience. I was wandering if anyone on here could give me advice on the plumbing industry or knew anyone who has there own British building company. Thanks and look forward to your advice.

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
I fear your qualifications would not be recognised here, going by earlier posts on this subject
However, that hasn't stopped others continuing their trade here, but if you want to be legal......

·
Registered
17,566 Posts
Hi. I'm just new to this site and was looking for some advice and information. I'm a qualified plumber with 15 years experience. I was wandering if anyone on here could give me advice on the plumbing industry or knew anyone who has there own British building company. Thanks and look forward to your advice.
You may be qualified in UK but are you qualified in Spain? Jobs in Spain are like gold-dust especially if you are not fluent in Spanish. Beware of "British Builders" or tradesmen many of whom had only ever done a bit of DiY before getting off the plane. That is not to say that there are not some good ones, who are also honest and competent, but they tend to be few and far between. Most importantly, avoid getting into partnership with one unless you are 110% certain of the person you are involved with, because you may find that you are left with all the liabilities while the profits have disappeared with your one time "partner."

I'm sorry if the above sounds negative, but it is best that you be aware before taking any big steps.