Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I signed up today to get some advice about the process of working in the US for about a year. I have done some research into the US Embassy and the Visa application; it seems to be quite a strict and lengthy process, but it is for the benefit of the country, so it seems completely necessary. I am an 18-year-old student currently in college studying English, Maths, Photography and Psychology at A Level grade, I'm not sure if most of you are familiar with A Levels, but it is apparently similar/the equivalent to Advanced Placement.
Ever since I can remember I have always been fascinated by the US, and now I'm at the age where I'm ready to go and experience it. I have done some research into becoming a Nanny. The daughter of my mum's work colleague was once a Nanny in America, and I had a lengthy chat with her about her experience, and it has made me more motivated to get there; she has American and English friends that are still Nannies in the US and if everything legally goes well, they are going to help me start a Nanny career. I have always been interested in a career working with/caring for children. And what better way to merge my interests together than becoming a Nanny in America? I haven't had any experience in the working environment with children, but I don't think that is a negative, because being a Nanny and working within an environment with children is a big difference. As being a Nanny is more of a close, family-based work environment. I feel that looking after my three-year-old niece and spending lots of time bonding with her since she was born, and my younger cousin, has given me enough experience to make this decision. I am constantly told by others that I am very good at caring for and communicating well with children, and it is what makes me happy.