Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi there new to the forum..

Right, have spent some time in Oz. about 3 months in total . My wife is a Perth born girl so that should be easyish to go back.. we are married ( in Perth ) and was looking at the options to move to Oz. ( currently in the UK)

I would be interested in how I go about getting a job. I work for my self here in the UK. We have houses here in the UK so we would prob want to carry on renting them till we make a 100% choice where to live. As I am thinking it would be good to come over for 6months to a year to see how things go to be sure..

We have a place in Perth WA we can use.

So what's the scope of work for my self

I am an apprentice trained Fitter Turner.
Skills include
Welding including plastic welding , Fabrication, Machining, Fitting/rebuilding, Pumps, Basic Electrical, Basic electronics. I also have worked on trains and currently still have a safety Critical cert for working on HST's ( intercity 125's )

I own for the last 12 years an Interior Design company for Commerical and domestic. Blinds and curtains. Both making and retailing..
I worked for Fleetlands for a year on Helicopters, Water Board stripping and rebuilding pumps and looking after pumping stations for 14 years, worked for First great western in London on HST trains as part of the Exam team and also repairs..

My wife is a GM for a hotel group..

So, would I be able to find work ??

I liked Sydney over Perth but for the family Perth would work better as why move round the world to still be away from them..

any pointers..

I have a huge classic car interst and would like to ship out my classics

·
Registered
6,235 Posts
Hi Mark & Jo,

Sounds like you can apply for a spouse visa Mark since Jo is from Perth.

I don't know anything about your trade but there are job links in the 'PLEASE READ...' sticky post towards the top of the forum.