Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

My husband and I just received our visas to move to France!! We're so excited to be able to start this new adventure. We'll be moving to Toulouse in late November/early December. My husband is on a passeport talent visa and will be teaching dance (tap and jazz) and working with the tap dance company Tapage in Toulouse. I worked in marketing/event planning for small businesses for 8 years and switched to working as a cheesemonger in a cheese & wine shop for the last year (needless to say, we both love French cheese and wine).

We're in our early/mid 30s and have been married for 11 years. We're getting a short-term rental for a month or so while we look for an apartment somewhere within the city. We've lived in the city of Chicago for 11 years (no car), so appreciate a more urban environment vs. living in one of the surrounding towns.

Our French is basic (1 year in college for each of us, plus lots of independent practice since then), but we'll be enrolling in intensive courses at the Alliance Francaise for the first month or so that we are here.

If you live in Toulouse or know friends who do, I'd love to hear from you. We'll need some friends and supporters here as we try to figure everything out.

I'm a researcher at heart (he's a little more seat-of-the-pants), so I have soooo many questions for people who live in Toulouse (what's the best cell/internet service? best option for finding apartments? best neighborhood that's cheap but has good public transport access to the rest of the city? best thrift stores? and I could keep going!).

Anyway, I'd love to meet you on the forums and then maybe in real life once we make the move! Merci et à bientôt!

·
Registered
1,787 Posts