Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody. I've been searching in the forums but I couldn't find someone with this situation, so I thought I'd ask.

I'm an Israeli citizen and would like to move to France on account of a relationship with a woman with French citizenship. I know marriage would make this easier - but we're not there yet. I'm going to France soon for a period of 2.5 months to live with her but I've decided to also pursue a long term visa, for a one year period.

I work as a freelancer registered locally, in Israel, but I mainly have a single client paying me regularly - with invoices. While the sums are above average, I don't have "salary" forms as I'm not registered as an employee. I only have documents of the purchase orders and the financial transactions of funds.

This makes me worry about how to go about the "proof of means of support" section in my visa application. My bank account balance isn't so great: I can show the purchase orders & payment confirmations from the start of last year until today, and also purchase orders for the next months. However, because of the nature of my work it would be difficult to get a "contract"- up until now both me and my employer preferred short term commitments.

I should also mention that I intend to keep working for this company while in France (the work is not location-sensitive) - that's the only work I want to be doing. I know that the money would be enough to support me, but how do I make the consulate people see that? :)

Could anyone here please give advice on the best way to go about this?

* Also, when going to the interview in the consulate, is there something specific I should mention or avoid mentioning?

·
Administrator
49,103 Posts