Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone - longtime lurker but now ... a hopeful soon-to-be-expat!

I went to the consulate today to get specific details about a Long Stay Visitor Visa. And now I have some questions for you.

I'm a freelance artist and I have work and contracts that will support me through next year BUT my bank accounts are very low right now. In order to increase confidence I am getting a letter of financial support from my family AND also one from my long time French boyfriend who I will be staying with. He is also hosting me and I will not have rent to pay during this stay. This savings issue is my main concern at the moment. They are at an all time low. I can provide bank statements and tax records showing the somewhat feast/famine nature of freelance work BUT I am a bit nervous that this alone will make me a bad candidate.

From what I've been reading - you can't really over-do it when it comes to documentation. Would lists of awards I've received bolster my application in regards to showing I am not a hobbyist but a true professional?

If anyone has a similar background I would love to have your tips on what you felt made a strong application.

Also : the Woman at the Consulate said English letters would be fine - but I was wondering if having everything in French as well would encourage them.

Thanks for your time!

·
Administrator
53,142 Posts
Ultimately, it may come down to your real "reasons" for wanting to go to France. Some of the consulates will still issue a visitor visa in lieu of a "fiancé" visa (which doesn't exist for France), if you admit that you're joining your boy- or girl-friend with the intention of getting married while in France, which will mean you can get a spouse visa/residence permit and your problems are over.