Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I was recently made redundant by my company here in Dubai. They've told me that they can keep my visa open for maximum 3 months, so I can keep looking for employment or move back to my home country. Currently I'm not having much luck on the job front and am preparing myself in case I need to leave the country.

I've made a checklist of things to do. Could anyone offer advice or pointers? Do I have the order of things correct? Is it realistic to expect that this can be done in a couple of months?

I've never done this before so quite worried about how things will go, especially in regards to my apartment. The landlord is a real estate company and they have been a bit of a nightmare to deal with. They were meant to update my condition report (I noticed a few things wrong with the apartment right after I moved in), months ago but they keep putting it off.

1. Notify landlord. Contract requires 2 months’ notice period.
2. Sell off furniture (Dubizzle)
3. Move to hotel for the remaining period.
4. Clean, repair and repaint apartment. Does anyone have any recommendations for repairmen to use? I live in Motor City.
5. Cancel Du / DEWA / Emicool contracts and get back security deposits.
6. Cancel leased car.
7. Hand over apartment back to landlord and get back security deposit and un cashed cheques. How likely is it to get back the security deposit? I guess it really depends on the real estate company.
8. Notify bank. I know there are fees and penalties with regards to early cancellation of things. So I was hoping to notify the bank last, so I can take care of all these things first. I don't have any loans and the amount in my transaction account should cover my credit card.
9. Company cancels visa and hand back medical insurance cards.

·
Registered
4,052 Posts
sounds about right.