Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. I found this site by Googling "US NAVY retired in the Philippines" but after registering couldn't find any specific "group" of such interest.

I'm retired U.S. Navy. Met my wife in Olongapo. Been married 22 yrs. Currently live in California. We Built a two story concrete home in the Su-ay barrio of Himamaylan in 2002. Home is currently occupied by her youngest brother who lives in the house and takes care of their mother.

She has 4 older brothers who also live in Su-ay. I want to retire to the Province in the next three or so years. My asawa has reservations. She thinks living close to her family only invites problems. That may be. But my concerns lie elsewhere.

Looking for tips from other USN retirees regarding cost of living (my current pension is $1,350), and how I will receive that pension in the P.I.? Or more to the point I guess, how do U.S.N. RETIRED receive your pension? Can I expect to live comfortably and have enough left over to enjoy some local travel? Let's start with those questions, and get the ball (network) rolling from there.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

I cannot answer your questions with regards to receiving your pension here but i am sure some of your fellow american retirees can help you with that one.

With regards to your pension and whether you can live comfortably, it is more than enough depending on what living standards you are after. Your $1,350 equates to just under 60,000 pesos per month at the current exchange rate.