Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been seeing and taking care of my girlfriend from Thailand for about 2 years now. She moved back to her village last year and I built a small home for her.
I work overseas now but will be returning to the US in a few months. I want to get her a K1 visa brcause I cannot retire for another 5 years and would like to marry and bring her to the USA with me. I have already retained a lawyer to help.
My worry is that she may be rejected because she worked in a massage parlor for several years. Does anyone know if working in a massage parlor is an automatic rejection? I know working in a Bar as a prostitute is a rejection. Do massage parlors fall under the same catigory? Can anyone advise me?:confused2:

·
Registered
369 Posts
Philadelphia:

I am not a lawyer and cannot provide you with legal advice, only thoughts. I expect that immigration will drag their heals and possibly try to dissuade you. I don't know for certain if there are true disqualifying items other than a criminal conviction or a medical contagious disease.

The most important part is to answer all questions on the visa application correct and true. Any error in the application will cause rejection. You must answer ever question truthfully without omissions or falsehoods.

You have hired a lawyer. What is his/her opinion concerning your fiancé's past employment?

Realize that if the application is rejected you can file an appeal. Persistence pays off.

Another avenue may be to write your Congressman requesting help. Remember, he/she works for you.

Good luck.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Stedneck

Philadelphia: