Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all

I just joined this forum to try to find some advise.

I'm a recent college grad who majored in international studies. My goal has always been to work abroad. Currently I am working in an international sales position for a Chinese company. They hired me out of college and sent me to live and work in China for about 4 months before returning me to their branch offices in the states. I was sad to go and the more I have thought about it the more I realize that I want to go back. I have only been with this company for 7 months so I'm not really looking to leave anytime soon, but I have started to think about the future.

I know that probably the easiest way to live and work in China is as an English teacher. I don't want to do that because I want to be able to return to the states with some marketable experience if I feel the need to. I want to stay on a career path in marketing, business or even logistics. I am getting some really great experience with this job. The branch here in the US is very new so I have been involved with every side of establishing it, logistics, finances, marketing and of course sales. I have been traveling a lot for business, mostly to Latin America but also to Taiwan. So I feel like I am getting very good experience and maybe after a year or so with this job I will begin to look for another.

Does anyone have advise for me?
Should I try to learn some Mandarin? I am only fluent in English and Spanish. I could probably find a language school in my city pretty easily. I know how difficult that language is for an English speaker but maybe just having a foundation to show employers that I am willing to learn would be beneficial.
What would be the first step towards looking for a job in these fields? Most of what I find on internet searches are teaching jobs.