Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

I am considering a move to Italy in the next 3-4 months and was hoping to get some advice on professional work opportunities. :plane: (I have a masters degree in engineering and have been a health care consultant for the past three years.)

Most of my research has turned up English teaching or au pair gigs. While Italy's job environment is not the most favorable, I can't imagine that in an global economy jobs prospects are so limited.

Any guidance would be much appreciated!!!! I am flexible in the structure of the work - short-term/long term contracts, freelance, remote work opportunities. Also is anyone hiring? The hitch is that I am beginner Italian speaker but am willing to learn.

·
Administrator
49,435 Posts
The key factor in your case are going to be what sort of visa you can get. Generally speaking, in most of Europe, you have to find the job first, get your employer to obtain the necessary work authorization and then you can apply for a visa to move there. For example:
Consolato Generale d'Italia a New York, lavorosubordinato

But also generally speaking, with unemployment as high as it is in Italy, it can be difficult to be considered for a job if you don't have a reasonable level of the local language. (It's certainly that way here in France.) You would also have to find a way to come up to speed on the (Italian) vocabulary of your profession, as well as any regulation or licensing requirements in Italy. It's not an insurmountable task, but one that will take some time and attention on your part.