Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be getting my PR (189 Subclass) very soon. I am a mechanical engineer by profession. My wife is also a professional. We have a decent life in India (not luxurious). We both are working and have a total income of about Rs. 1 lac per month. We both are in our early 30’s. We have decent jobs in India. My father has recently bought us a fairly large (3BHK) apartment in a good locality. We also own two cars and none of our family members are financially dependent on us. We do not have any housing or vehicle loans. In short, our life is not bad in India, just that it is not growing as fast as we would like it to grow and this is why we thought of migrating to Australia.

But now after reading several forums and websites, most people say it is hard to get jobs in Australia. My wife is not too keen to move there because she wants to have kids now (we don’t have any as yet) and settle down now in India. I have lived abroad for a few years so I think we can make more money abroad but Australia is small country with a very small population. I have never been to Australia yet. I am not sure how good the prospects are for mechanical engineers in Australia that too with no local experience that I’ve been reading everywhere that is very important. India on the other hand has tons of great opportunities for mechanical engineers as well as for the profession in which my wife is.