Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am an Australian interested in moving to Germany with the intention of seeking work. I've read some about this on here - especially about the job seeker visa. I've got two degrees and am serious about full time work.

Would like to know about other people's experiences. Especially how easy it is regarding gaining a visa for the sole purposes of seeking work.

Thanks in advance

Andrew

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi sunshine,

I studied environmental science and moved onto a masters of natural resource management. About 6-7 years of study with a small hiatus. I have yet to gain experience as I had moved to London since graduating so my life has not followed that plan to get into the environmental industry despite a desire to do so.
I do not speak German however I have some familiarity with it as I studied for 6 months in Vienna on exchange for university. I also have a desire to learn the language as well.

Thanks for responding

·
Registered
251 Posts
Forget about Germany.

Even if you manage a JSV, you won't be able to obtain a work permit.

Germany already has more than enough foreigners who've graduated in your field from German institutions looking for jobs and all of them have priority over you.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Appreciate the honesty regarding my chances. It seems the market is flooded with environmental job seekers everywhere.

Is there an official shortage list for occupations in Germany and further to that are there types of jobs you cannot apply for.

Thanks again

·
Registered
251 Posts
Appreciate the honesty regarding my chances. It seems the market is flooded with environmental job seekers everywhere.