Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am new to the forum.:)

I have moved to the UK (Leeds) few months ago and was desperatly trying to find a job, mainly through the agencies. I have a degree, I've got working experience in few other EU countries, my CV looks quite ok (that's what the agents are saying). But no success so far, even close to any interview outside the agencies. The recruitment agents are saying that at least 1 year UK experience is relevant, but where to get it from??

Can anybody share your "tips and tricks" on job hunting in England? I would really appreciate this - as already getting quite desperate about perspectives..:confused:

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
Theres unemployment everywhere, jobs are in demand. You are one of the nearly 2 million unemployed in the UK, You've just gotta keep trying!!

Jo xxx

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Theres unemployment everywhere, jobs are in demand. You are one of the nearly 2 million unemployed in the UK, You've just gotta keep trying!!

Jo xxx
Thanks a lot for reply! Yes, I know it's not the best situation at the moment... But in general - is there anything that I should keep in mind about job search here? Any more ideas ? :)

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
Thanks a lot for reply! Yes, I know it's not the best situation at the moment... But in general - is there anything that I should keep in mind about job search here? Any more ideas ? :)
I dont think you should put all your faith in agencies. Most companies looking to cut corners and "tighten their belts" would probably not use agencies at the mo. Try local papers, websites, word of mouth.... Government job centres??? And maybe forget your degree for now and be prepared to do anything to get a foot in the door????

Jo xxx

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5