Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I have 4 years of experience as Java/J2EE/Web-Service developer. My experience involves working for Banking(Credit Card) and Stock Market (Trading applications).

Please advice me the job opportunities(Java/J2EE) in Australia, as I am planning to apply immigration to Australia

Also, Please let me know...What kind of details should I mention in CV and in Reference letter.

Thanks and Regards,
Ashu.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Did you try looking in seek.au?
Thanks for your reply Wander_Lust.

I am applying for PR Visa in next few months but before that I wanted to check whether is it worth to spend this much. Do we have enough opportunity for java developer with 4+ years of exp in Australia.

I am little worried as I read in few threads employers in Australia prefer people with prior local exp. Can I take a risk of spending 2500$ on Visa, quit my current job and come to Australia.

Experience expat please provide your valuable suggestions.

Thanks a lot.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hi Guys,

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but IT work especially in the banking sector saw massive job cuts in Australia over the last year. With a lot of jobs sent overseas.

I work in the IT sector in Australia depending on which state you are planning to move to there will be a lot of local applicants especially in Queensland as the government recently let go of a lot of ICT workers.

Sydney and Melbourne are not much better. There is more work in Canberra for IT related jobs atm but a lot of people do not wish to move there, these however are also mostly government jobs which require Australian PR or Citizenship.