Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm British and currently based in Prague, but I am adamant that I WILL move to Spain this year! I am a tefl teacher with 2 years experience and I am thinking of trying Valencia
Please can someone advise me when is the best time to arrive to start looking for teaching jobs for the 2012/2013 school year? I am thinking about the beginning of September. I have heard it's better to present yourself in person to schools in Spain rather than email from another country. Any advice would be welcomed :)

·
Administrator
36,467 Posts
I'm British and currently based in Prague, but I am adamant that I WILL move to Spain this year! I am a tefl teacher with 2 years experience and I am thinking of trying Valencia
Please can someone advise me when is the best time to arrive to start looking for teaching jobs for the 2012/2013 school year? I am thinking about the beginning of September. I have heard it's better to present yourself in person to schools in Spain rather than email from another country. Any advice would be welcomed :)
:welcome:

start looking NOW!!

with a tefl qualification you won't be getting a job in either a state or international school though, it will be a language academy

jobs are scarce though, & yes most language academies will give a job to someone already here - but it can't hurt to get your name & CV in front of them, can it

from what I'm reading on various forums atm - the most likely place for a tefl teacher to get work atm is Madrid

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
I think you should go over for a visit to Spain and see how things are there nowadays and perhaps see what jobs are available - or not. The recession has hit hard, so its not easy, but at least if you go for a visit you can get a feel for the place and be there for any possible interviews???

Jo xxx

·
Registered
19,383 Posts

start looking NOW!!