Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a software developer with 7 years of Indian experience, I have a PR and I am planning to relocate to Australia soon.What are my chances in the present job market?..

·
Registered
3,763 Posts
Hi anureshmp,

Use the forum search function - this question comes up every week. Better yet, do a bit of your own research. The job market is ok, but getting the first job can be hard because you have no local experience and no personal network yet.

Cheers,
Monika

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi,
I have been following these blogs for a long time now.
And since iv now got a job in Australia, I thought I should share my two cents worth of thoughts.
I am a business analyst, with total 10 years of exp and 7 years of Business analysis experience.
I got my PR 2 years back, but was on a back foot whether to come immediately or at the so called right time.
I came to Syney 1st August and got a job offer on 1st October and another one on 4th October. Both the jobs are for mid-level BA (I was a senior BA in my old co)
But there are somethings which I think ppl who are going to move to Australia without a job need to really consider before moving here
1. The job market is average. Many of the ads on seek are the same job from different recruiters. So though it may appear like there are many jobs, there are actually much less.
2. Australia is very very very expensive, esp if you don’t have a job. The rent will eat you alive.
3. While taking a place on rent or on share basis a lot of people prefer if you have a job, and are at times not so willing to give a place on rent to ppl who are looking out for jobs. This would be case to case basis. So have your plan in place on where you would stay, how you will search for a job etc.