Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a professional Swing/Rat Pack singer looking to move to Spain. I'm bored with singing at English weddings (I've done over 500) and fancy more cabaret type work.

My act is pretty classy and I am very good at what I do (just for clarification, not to brag) I'm not your average pub singer.

My wife and I have money to buy a property outright and we're wondering how easy or difficult would it be for me to find enough work to live and pay the bills etc.

I can see that things are very difficult over there and that there is a lot of unemployment, but are tourist numbers dwindling too? Do hotels and other entertainment venues still operate and provide entertainment?

Are there opportunities for someone like me to get work? I don't speak Spanish yet (we intend to learn of course) but my act doesn't need a lot of Spanish if I'm performing to internationals or Brits.

We are considering Costa Blanca (Javea, Calpe or Torrevieja), Almeria (Mojacar, Vera), Costa Del Sol. I worry about crime levels I hear about in the Costa Del Sol. Are they mirrored further north? I mean is it the same level everywhere?

If anyone can suggest the best areas (if there are any) from their experience, that would be great.

We are travelling out in two weeks time (24/April/2012) to view properties in the first two areas. This will be our second trip this year. I'm going to check out the work situation very keenly on this trip too.

We can see that property prices have dropped greatly, and are likely to continue a little further at least. With this in mind, if we buy now, I would be negotiating very aggressively, to take that further drop into account. I know this would seem harsh to those who are having to sell but, if we make the move, we'd be foolish to knowlingly and blindly walk into a future negative equity situation.