Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, have just joined as family thinking of moving to Oz.

I am a part-time community nurse and bh is a joiner. We have to boys aged 6 and 3. We just feel, like most people, that Oz would be a better place to bring up the boys.

The 2 of us did the years working visa about 10 year ago and wished that we had stayed, so we do know a bit about the place. But a lot can happen in 10 years and when you have kids its a different ball game.

You have so many worries though, like do we risk everything just to find that we won't get jobs, we won't get the lifestyle that we want!:confused:

We fancy SA. Northern Beaches in NSW would be lovely but we could never afford the house prices. But SA sounds like the place we would like to bring our familly up in. And its strange because its the only place we didn't visit when we were on our visa.

So if anybody out there would mind putting my mind at ease and give some advice it would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
6,235 Posts
Hi GrassiSal,

So what are your concerns? If you are a bit more specific then maybe some of us can help.

We moved to South Australia 2.5 years ago but decided not to move to Adelaide since my husband didn't want to live in big city (and Adelaide is one of the smaller state capitals).

If you decide not to live in Adelaide then the other 2 major cities are Whyalla in the North and Mount Gambier in the South East. When I say major they have about 25,000 people in each so they are a town by UK standards :) The main population of SA live in and around Adelaide.

The north of the state is dessert and very hot while further south is more Mediterranean climate (although we have been having a heat wave with temperatures hitting the 40's at the moment! :eek:).