Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I have started my job search in Singapore. I am an IT consultant earning very well in U.S. But I want to move to Singapore, hence I am looking for jobs with Expat benefits in Singapore so that I can live comfortably in Singapore ( family of 4 kids)
I am not a manager but a Very Senior Developer with 10 +years DB experience .

The various Salary Surveys indicate that I can be paid between 80- 120 K in Singapore. But the jobs that I see are offering SGD 6000 pm max. I wonder if the salary surveys are even true. Any feed back on that ?

I am losing hope that I can find a high paying job for my qualification in Singapore.
(atleast even 100K SGD). What is your opinion on that?

Is there any American expat in Singapore in an IT job who is able to boost my morale ? A couple of such company names who give Expat benefits packages would be a good start for me to start my search again.
Hence my question
Is there any American expat in Singapore in an IT job getting Expat benefits who can help or guide me?

·
Registered
3 Posts
I'm an ex-IT guy in Mongolia. I was offered to be a Computer Science teacher at a university offering masters degrees. The pay is low. I'm teaching English to Mongolian programmers temporarily. Teaching English pays 4.3 times as much, though in that case, neither were a full time job. In Asia there is a very high demand for native English speakers. 2009 was difficult. In January 2010 I was confronted by many opportunities. My wife is Mongolian. Even cousins have been willing to pay market rates in my apartment for English lessons several days a week.