Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I have recently joined this forum and have a question I hope someone can answer for me. I am looking for a job in an International School in Bangkok. I am a qualified Uk teacher with 20 years experience and have been teaching in Bangkok for about 6 months- but not in an international school. I have heard that many International school do not recruit from Thailand, only from overseas. Is this true?

·
Registered
18 Posts
I have heard that many International school do not recruit from Thailand, only from overseas. Is this true?
Most of the biggest international schools prefer to hire directly from overseas. That said, many will still hire locally when they get themselves into a pinch. When they make a local hire, however, they always pay a lower salary/benefit/perk package.

There are a multitude of 2nd tier (more about size and not quality of education) international schools that do hire almost exclusively in Thailand. Check out the ISAT list and read various school websites. In Bangkok, Sukhumvit has probably 20 or so of these schools that more than welcome qualified applicants already residing within Thailand.

Being both experienced and qualified in the UK, you'll have no problem at all in finding a place in a good school. That said, timing must be right.

Good luck!

·
Registered
4 Posts
I wish you the best !

Hello I have recently joined this forum and have a question I hope someone can answer for me. I am looking for a job in an International School in Bangkok. I am a qualified Uk teacher with 20 years experience and have been teaching in Bangkok for about 6 months- but not in an international school. I have heard that many International school do not recruit from Thailand, only from overseas. Is this true?
Hi there, I really hope you find exactly what you're looking for in Thailand..