Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

yesterday, I received the outcome for a Relevant Skilled Employment Assessment by Engineers Australia. Now, I have 70 points for the 189 visa, my occupation is Industrial Engineering (233511).
As my occupation already came down to 65 points in the last round, I should have a good chance of receiving an invitation in the next round.

However, I am hesitant to update my EOI as my girlfriend and I plan to get married at the beginning of next year. Submitting my application before the wedding (which would be necessary if I received the invitation in one of the next rounds) would lead to some complications, because I would have to update my relationship status and add my then-wife to my application after submitting it.

I would be very thankful if you could help me with my questions:
  • If I submit/update my EOI now with 70 points, what should I specify as my relationship status?
  • If I apply before the wedding, should I add my girlfriend to the application at all?
  • Is there a risk that adding a spouse after visa application submission will not work?
  • Is it possible to intentionally delay the visa grant until the wedding is over and I will have added my wife to the application? I'm a bit worried that as I am from a low-risk country, the grant will come quicker than I expect, so I will miss the chance of adding my then-wife. Will the CO understand if I write to him/her and explain the situation?

I could of course just wait until January until I submit my EOI. The downside of this would be that I run the risk of not receiving an invitation at all if for some reason the point requirement goes back to 70, because I'll lose 5 points due to age next March. So I would rather update my EOI sooner than later.

I am quite confused right now, so - as I said - I would be very thankful for your help.

Thank you! :)

·
Registered