Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I have a bit of a situation and I know nowhere else to go. I'm a resident of California, and my fiance lives in Pretoria, SA whom I'm currently visiting.

I've been in SA for 2 months now, and just found out I'm pregnant. I'm very excited yet scared at the same time because of health care issues. I have insurance in the States (Blue Cross) but it doesn't cover here as far as I know.

I know some people consider pregnancy a pre-existing condition, and I'm worried I may have trouble finding insurance.

I'm very healthy and in my late 20's, I just need some advice on finding some basic health insurance that will cover maternity costs. can someone offer me any suggestions? My fiance has his own business so health insurance through him isn't an option I believe.

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
Hello everyone,

I have a bit of a situation and I know nowhere else to go. I'm a resident of California, and my fiance lives in Pretoria, SA whom I'm currently visiting.

I've been in SA for 2 months now, and just found out I'm pregnant. I'm very excited yet scared at the same time because of health care issues. I have insurance in the States (Blue Cross) but it doesn't cover here as far as I know.

I know some people consider pregnancy a pre-existing condition, and I'm worried I may have trouble finding insurance.

I'm very healthy and in my late 20's, I just need some advice on finding some basic health insurance that will cover maternity costs. can someone offer me any suggestions? My fiance has his own business so health insurance through him isn't an option I believe.
Have a look at the following:
Medical Aid for Pregnant Women | Vitacare Health

I am not sure what options are medical aids have, have you googled it at all?

:)

·
Registered
561 Posts
Hello everyone,