Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hello everyone

Pleased to be here.

I received a five-figure cash inheritance from my parents in the UK.
I had the cash transferred to a Spanish bank.
My wife phoned the tax office to enquire about IHT.
She was told that I would need sworn translations of the death certificate, Will etc. and a ‘La Haya Aposttile’, whatever that is. Seems like more than I’m prepared to bother myself with.

The amount of hassle and expense I have to go through to prove I have inherited this money so that I can hand over about 5K to the tax man is simply unbelievable.
And I am a resident in Andalucia.

Has anyone been in this situation? I would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

cushT

·
Registered
6,024 Posts
Hello everyone

Pleased to be here.

I received a five-figure cash inheritance from my parents in the UK.
I had the cash transferred to a Spanish bank.
My wife phoned the tax office to enquire about IHT.
She was told that I would need sworn translations of the death certificate, Will etc. and a ‘La Haya Aposttile’, whatever that is. Seems like more than I’m prepared to bother myself with.

The amount of hassle and expense I have to go through to prove I have inherited this money so that I can hand over about 5K to the tax man is simply unbelievable.
And I am a resident in Andalucia.

Has anyone been in this situation? I would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

cushT
Unfortunately, you may well find that you get a big tax bill - especially as you rang them and actually told them that you had inherited some money - I hope no personal details were given!

If you read up on succession tax in Spain or IHT in UK, there are many interesting articles on the topic.

I don't see how you can avoid this tax.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks snikpoh

I suppose not. As much as I dislike handing money over to this mafia I suppose I'll have to do it.